Ohio Association of Two-Year Colleges

Annual Conference -- October 14, 2016 -- Save the date!
Join us at Rhodes State College on October 14, 2016 when we discuss "Creating in the Classroom."  Creativity and active learning can transform the classroom experience from dull to stimulating.  Plan to share your active learning strategies at the conference. 


Call for Proposals:  Send in Yours!
The Call for Proposals for our 2016 conference is open now until April 1, 2016.  Plan to join us as a presenter! For proposal questions, please contact Nora Beerline.


Teaching Awards

Nominations for full-time teacher of the year and adjunct teacher of the year are now open.  Please consider nominating an outstanding teaching colleague.  Nominations are being accepted until May 31, 2016.


Thank you for nominating outstanding faculty colleagues for our 2015 teaching awards.  Last year's winners were Janet Marshall from Miami University Middletown for the full-time award and Erika Jefferson from Cuyahoga Community College for the adjunct award.  Congratulations to both winners!


Here is the complete list of the nominees for last year's teaching awards--45 nominees in all, our largest list of teaching award nominees in conference history!


Teaching Grant

This $1,500 award is given to the teacher who best enhances teaching and learning in the classroom. Congratulations to Regan Silvestri of Lorain County Community College, our 2015 Teaching Grant award winner!   This year's Teaching Grant application opens in late February 2016.  For questions, please contact Adrienne Cassel.


Davis-Zimmerman Student Scholarship
This award is given out annually to a student from the conference host college.  The award is named in recognition of two long-serving Board members, Kent Zimmerman and Dr. Russ Davis, III. 


The OATYC annually publishes a refereed journal.  Please consider submitting your research and/or conference paper to our refereed journal.  Submissions are accepted year-round, and proposals are blind reviewed for acceptance.  Please contact Kelly Webb for more information.   

The spring edition of the newsletter will be available in March 2016.

Information for trustees of Ohio's two-year colleges is provided by the Ohio Association of Community Colleges which was founded in 1993 as a forum for sound trustee training, communication, and trustee-president cooperation.

The Ohio Faculty Senate of Community and Technical Colleges, established in 1995, is made up of representatives chosen by the faculty from each two-year college in Ohio.   The OFSCTC, which meets four times annually in the offices of the Regents, provides the voice and perspective of the two-year faculty to the Chancellor and Regents on the relevant issues facing higher education. 

The American Association of Community Colleges is the primary national advocacy organization for community colleges, with the mission of "building a nation of learners."